I’m not a “teacher.” I’m a “reminder.”

Starting a blog about being a guru and using that to describe me is probably a bit misleading. I’m not an expert, and I won’t teach you anything, even though it may seem like I am. But let’s get serious – does a guru really teach you something you don’t already know?

Gurus are generally considered teachers. They’re sages who have amassed great knowledge and wisdom because of their age, their experiences, and their 20 hour days of mediation and long-term fasting. What most people don’t know is that you know just as much as the gurus do. All of that knowledge and wisdom is within you. All of it.

…and that’s where I come in. I’m not going to teach you, but I am going to remind you.

At the moment you were born, you knew exactly how to be. You knew how to grow your hair, blink your eyes, beat your heart, and circulate your blood. You knew how to breathe, suckle, and poop. Just because you’re older now and the world seems so much more complex doesn’t mean it really is. Things are just more complex because you don’t live in the present. Your brain has taken control of your decision making, so instead of just “being” and living presently, you’re constantly thinking about the past and the future. …and we know that living in the past makes us depressed and full of regrets, and living in the future makes us anxious and worried about everything we need to do tomorrow.

So let me help you by reminding you to live presently. Be who you were when you were born. Don’t live in the past or the future. Try to keep yourself grounded in this moment.

I challenge you to spend the next 5 minutes of your day just being aware of now. Sit quietly with your eyes closed. Watch your thoughts bubble up and drift off. Don’t let them grip you – know that they aren’t you.

See how that feels…

One thought on “I’m not a “teacher.” I’m a “reminder.”

Leave a Reply

